United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), also known as the Agriculture Department,  defines 8 quality levels for beef. The quality grades are awarded for 3 parameters:

  • 1. tenderness
  • 2. juiciness
  • 3. flavor



Here is how the USDA ranks the beef you buy:

1. Prime grade is almost never found in supermarkets. This beef is produced from young, well-fed beef cattle. It has abundant marbling and is generally sold in restaurants and hotels. Prime roasts and steaks are excellent for dry-heat cooking (broiling, roasting, or grilling).
2. Choice grade is still of high quality, but has less marbling than Prime. Choice roasts and steaks from the loin and rib. They are very tender, juicy, and flavorful. They also do well with dry-heat cooking. Many of the less tender cuts, such as those from the rump, round, and blade chuck, can also be cooked with dry heat if not overcooked. Such cuts will be most tender if “braised” — roasted, or simmered with a small amount of liquid in a tightly covered pan.
3. Select grade is very uniform in quality and normally leaner than the higher grades. It is fairly tender, but, because it has less marbling, it may lack some of the juiciness and flavor of the higher grades. Only the tender cuts (loin, rib, sirloin) should be cooked with dry heat. Other cuts should be marinated before cooking or braised to obtain maximum tenderness and flavor.

the other grades are Standard grade (is frequently sold as ungraded or as “store brand” meat), Commercial grade (is much the same as Standard grade), Utility grade (is seldom, if ever, sold at retail. It is used to make ground beef and processed products) , Cutter grade, Canner grade (same as above) 


us beef grade chart 

The goal for the use of these criteria is to provide purchasers with a system that measures and predicts quality by methods that maximize consistency and reliability.

At NewViet Shop, we provide mainly CHOICE grade. Please refer to US Beef Category for more information